Vendor Agility Check
by msg advisors

We make the agility of partner companies visible.

Many companies want to implement complex transformation projects using an agile approach and involving external service providers. Here, it is often critical for success that project partners have the same philosophy as regards agility. What is the “maturity level” of agility? How well do the conflicting working styles fit together? This is usually difficult to determine from standard presentations and common tender documents. However, an objective assessment of agile competencies can be crucial to the success of joint transformation projects. This applies, for example, to aspects such as company culture, pricing, structure or method competence.

The Solution: Agility Check in Four Dimensions

This is precisely where msg advisors’ “Vendor Agility Check” comes into play. It enables a concrete and sustainable assessment of agile competencies, skills and experience of service providers. The model determines their agility maturity levels in four dimensions:

When it comes to agility, a common philosophy can be crucial for success.

Vendor Agility Check: Focus On Agility Competence

Vendor Agility Check

Demand-Based Design

Depending on the focus and objectives of the tendered project, the agility check can be individually weighted or adapted. Each of the four dimensions can be prioritized and further developed to meet the customer’s requirements as precisely as possible: For example, if the service provider already has experience with certain agile methods such as Design Thinking, Scrum or Lean Start-Up. Or if the focus should be on agile pricing that fits the planned methodology of the project (e.g., iterative and incremental). The approach supports the objectives that are often particularly important in the context of transformation projects. For example, if business agility, continuity and effectiveness are to be increased or service management competencies are to be further developed.

Each of the four dimensions is customizable.

How Agile Are Your Partners?

You live agility in your daily work and expect the same from your service providers? Let us help you determine the agile competencies, skills and experience of current or potential partners. We show you the decisive criteria for informative results.

Learn more

Assessment Approach and Methodology: How msg advisors Determines Agility Competence

msg advisors’ Vendor Agility Check supports companies in the selection and assessment of service providers in tender processes. Together, we assess the agility of service providers or help you assess agility. For this purpose, we create an informative analysis based on the four agility dimensions developed by us, take into account documentation and compare all bidders on the basis of an overall score per dimension.

Eight Practical Tips for a Successful Agility Assessment Approach

Approach

  • Is the agile approach proposed by the service provider sustainable and reliable? Find out whether roles, tools and project organization actually support agile working.
  • Critically check the vendor’s proposed approaches and don’t be taken in by empty buzzwords.

Reference

  • Make sure the references fit the scope of your planned project: Is a comparable number of employees involved? How were the results documented?
  • Are the references up-to-date? Is there a possibility to contact the reference providers?

Experience and Knowledge

  • Determine which competencies in the service provider’s team ideally complement the skills of your team in the project. Also consider which of these could be valuable in a longer-term collaboration.
  • Do all of the vendor’s proposed team members have agile competencies, certificates or agile credentials?

Contract & Pricing

  • Does the service provider already have experience with alternative pricing, such as agile fixed price?
  • Check whether the potential partner develops pricing model proposals adapted to the project you are putting out to tender or whether the partner simply provides off-the-shelf approaches. The solution lies in the individual consideration of the project's aspects.

Competences and Methodologies Should Be Complementary.

Learn more.

Michael Dusch 345x380

Michael Dusch

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Michael Kandel Profilbild Msg Advisors 345x380

Michael Kandel

We are looking forwrd to hearing from you!

Further topics

  • Agile Change Implementation

    Agile Change Implementation

    Stay agile and productive under extreme conditions.


    Read more

  • 1
  • Agility for remote success

    Agility for remote success

    Mastering critical situations with agile organizational principles.


    Read more

  • 1
  • Hybrid Organization

    Hybrid Organization

    Achieving constructive balance between structural and process organization.


    Read more

  • 1
Logo M3 RGB ZusatzLogo M3 RGB Zusatz
More information on the topic.
More information on the topic.

Vendor Agility Check
der msg advisors

Wir machen die Agilität von Partnerunternehmen sichtbar.

Viele Unternehmen wollen komplexe Transformationsprojekte mittels eines agilen Vorgehens umsetzen und externe Dienstleister einbeziehen. Hierbei ist es häufig erfolgskritisch, dass Projektpartner in Hinblick auf Agilität die gleiche Philosophie haben. Welcher „Reifegrad“ von Agilität besteht? Wie gut passen die aufeinandertreffenden Arbeitsstile zusammen? Dies lässt sich in der Regel nur schwer anhand von Standardpräsentationen und gängigen Ausschreibungsdokumenten ermitteln. Eine objektive Einschätzung agiler Kompetenzen kann bei gemeinsamen Transformationsprojekten jedoch entscheidend für deren Erfolg sein. Dies betrifft zum Beispiel Aspekte wie die Unternehmenskultur, das Pricing, Struktur oder Methodenkompetenz.

Der Lösungsweg: Agilitäts-Check in vier Dimensionen

An genau dieser Stelle kommt der „Vendor Agility Check“ der msg advisors zum Einsatz. Er ermöglicht eine konkrete und nachhaltige Bewertung der agilen Kompetenzen, Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen von Dienstleistern. Das Modell ermittelt deren Agilitätsreifegrad in vier Dimensionen:

In Sachen „Agilität“ kann eine gemeinsame Philosophie erfolgsentscheidend sein.

Vendor Agility Check: Agilitätskompetenz im Fokus

Vendor Agility Check

Bedarfsorientierte Gestaltung

Je nach Schwerpunkt und Zielsetzungen des ausgeschriebenen Projektes lässt sich der Agility-Check individuell gewichten bzw. anpassen. So kann jede der vier Dimension priorisiert und weiter ausgearbeitet werden, um die Anforderungen des Auftraggebers möglichst genau zu treffen: etwa, wenn die Erfahrung mit bestimmten agilen Methoden wie Design Thinking, Scrum oder Lean Startup auf Seiten des Dienstleisters bereits vorhanden sein sollte. Oder wenn ein agiles Pricing im Fokus stehen soll, welches zur geplanten Methodik des Projektes passt (z. B. iterativ und inkrementell). Das Vorgehen unterstützt Zielsetzungen, die im Kontext von Transformationsprojekten oftmals besonders wichtig sind. Etwa, wenn Business Agility, Kontinuität und Effektivität erhöht oder Service-Management-Kompetenzen weiterentwickelt werden sollen.

Jede der vier Dimensionen ist individuell gestaltbar.

Wie agil sind Ihre Partner?

Sie leben Agilität im Arbeitsalltag und erwarten dies auch von ihren Dienstleistern? Ermitteln Sie mit uns die agilen Kompetenzen, Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen aktueller oder potenzieller Partner. Wir zeigen Ihnen, welche Kriterien entscheidend sind für aussagekräftige Ergebnisse.

Erfahren Sie mehr

Bewertungsansatz- und Methodik: so ermitteln die msg advisors Agilitätskompetenz

Der Vendor Agility Check der msg advisors unterstützt Unternehmen bei der Auswahl und Bewertung von Dienstleistern in Tenderverfahren. Gemeinsam beurteilen wir die Agilität von Dienstleistern oder beraten Sie bei der Bewertung der Agilität. Dazu erstellen wir eine aussagekräftige Analyse anhand der vier von uns entwickelten Dimensionen der Agilität, berücksichtigen Dokumentationen und vergleichen alle Anbieter auf Basis einer Gesamtnote pro Dimension.

Acht Praxistipps für eine erfolgreiche Bewertung von Agilität

Vorgehensweise

  • Ist das vom Dienstleister vorgeschlagenen agile Vorgehen tragbar und belastbar? Finden Sie heraus, ob Rollen, Tools und Projektorganisation ein agiles Arbeiten tatsächlich unterstützen.
  • Prüfen Sie die vorgeschlagenen Ansätze des Vendoren kritisch und lassen Sie sich nicht von inhaltsleeren Buzzwords beeindrucken.

Referenz

  • Achten Sie darauf, dass die Referenzen zum Scope Ihres geplanten Projektes passen: Ist eine vergleichbare Anzahl von Mitarbeitern involviert? Wie wurden die Ergebnisse dokumentiert?
  • Sind die Referenzen aktuell? Besteht die Möglichkeit, die Referenzgeber zu kontaktieren?

Erfahrung und Wissen

  • Ermitteln Sie, welche Kompetenzen im Team des Dienstleisters die Fähigkeiten Ihres Teams im Projekt ideal ergänzen. Berücksichtigen Sie dabei auch, welche davon bei einer längeren Zusammenarbeit wertvoll sein könnten.
  • Haben alle angebotenen Teammitglieder des Vendors agile Kompetenzen, Zertifizierungen oder agile Referenzen?

Vertrag und Preisgestaltung

  • Hat der Dienstleister bereits Erfahrungen mit alternativem Pricing, wie beispielsweise dem agilen Festpreis?
  • Überprüfen Sie, ob der potenzielle Partner auf das von Ihnen ausgeschriebene Projekt angepasste Preismodellvorschläge entwickelt oder ob er Ihnen nur Ansätze von der Stange präsentiert. Die Lösung liegt in der individuellen Betrachtung der Projektbestandteile.

Kompetenzen und Methoden sollten sich ergänzen.

Erfahren Sie mehr.

Michael Dusch 345x380

Michael Dusch

Wir freuen uns auf den Kontakt mit Ihnen!

Michael Kandel Profilbild Msg Advisors 345x380

Michael Kandel

Wir freuen uns auf den Kontakt mit Ihnen!

Weiterführende Themen

  • Agile Change Implementation

    Agile Change Implementation

    Unter Extrembedingungen handlungsfähig und produktiv bleiben.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
  • Agility for remote success

    Agility for remote success

    Mit agilen Organisationsprinzipien Krisensituationen meistern.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
  • Hybride Organisation

    Hybride Organisation

    Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation in konstruktive Balance bringen.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
Logo M3 RGB ZusatzLogo M3 RGB Zusatz
Mehr Informationen zum Thema
Mehr Informationen zum Thema