Agile Change Implementation

Ensuring capable and productive organizations under extreme conditions.

Agile Change Implementation:
Ensuring capable and productive organizations under extreme conditions.

The COVID-19 pandemic suddenly put many organizations out of commission with a single stroke - organizations that have had established structures, processes and forms of collaboration in place for decades. Thus, companies are faced with the challenge of rapidly adapting to new ways of working in order to maintain their productivity. At the same time, defined processes to facilitate such a massive change process are generally missing, since the phases of change management are being cycled through faster than plans can be created. Instead of implementing clearly-defined change management strategies in a well-organized manner, companies now have to react ad hoc. That requires more flexible and pragmatic forms of change management and company management.

Adaptation instead of optimization

This is precisely where agile change comes in and it focuses on using pragmatic and creative problem solving to ensure organizations are able to act during phases of great uncertainty and to cushion the impact of cultural shocks. Reflecting on your company values and management principles provides a guideline for the flexibility that is needed and the ongoing monitoring of work methods, thus allowing for quick adjustment to all of the dynamically changing conditions during the COVID-19 pandemic.

msg advisors has developed a three-tiered approach model that helps organizations effectively find their way through and out of the crisis:

20200422_mad_Grafik_Corona-Kampagne_Culture-Change_EN.svg

#1 Check your organization’s pulse

The massive operational changes caused by COVID-19 have left their mark on organizations. Teams and employees have to implement new work methods within incredibly short amounts of time, as well as develop and learn new principles of communication and collaboration. At the same time, these changes have invoked feelings of fear and uncertainty throughout companies and society – however, they have also given rise to new ideas and innovations.

Reflecting on “COVID Practices”

Guided reflection (a retrospective analysis) allows teams and organizations to analyze the current mood, work methods and problem areas: What is working well in the current situation, what is not going well, what is missing? How are teams and employees doing? What is the mood and how is the collaboration between teams going? Which processes and controls are helping the company at the moment and which processes and policies no longer service a purpose at the company? Which successes can be celebrated?

Spring cleaning for processes and governance
Re-prioritizing the digital agenda

#2 Adjust the vision and strategy

In contrast to when the COVID-19 pandemic first started, companies now have the opportunity to actively shape their change process and consciously decide what their organization should look like after the crisis. This opportunity should not be wasted: a well-structured change process is essential for turning the valuable impulses gained from the aforementioned organizational reflections into concrete improvements and for effectively guiding the organization through and out of the crisis. This includes a clear formulation of the “what, why and how” of the planned transformation.

What: Identification of topics that hold opportunity

An evaluation of the findings from the retrospective analyses opens up opportunities to adjust the current business strategy, project portfolio and digitalization strategy. What do you want to take with you from the current situation? For example: more home office, making sure on-site workshops and meetings have a clearer focus, new production ideas or delivery chains? What does the future look like for your employees?

Why: Formulation of a future-proof vision
How: Develop a feasible plan of action

#3 Implement and anchor the changes within the organization

During the COVID-19 crisis, implementing measures can only be done under exceptional conditions. That is why it is important to consider the principles of agile change implementation, so that flexible approaches and pragmatic problem solving can be employed.

Flexible distribution of work packages

In the current crisis situation, companies often have certain departments and teams with very high workloads and then teams with a reduced workload, but who could easily help implement the improvements.

Getting quick wins
Intense communication at all times

msg advisors accompanies you throughout all phases of agile change implementation. You can help your company use the massive changes resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic to develop and strengthen your organization’s resilience.

Find out more

Thomas Praska 345x385 Neu

Thomas Praska

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Further topics

  • Minimum Viable Organization

    Minimum Viable Organization

    Developing hot spots of the digital organization in a targeted manner.


    Read more

  • 1
  • Remote Project Management

    Remote Project Management

    Strengthen resilience in critical phases with Project Management Factory.


    Read more

  • 1
  • Agility for remote success

    Agility for remote success

    Mastering critical situations with agile organizational principles.


    Read more

  • 1

Agile Change Implementation

So bleiben Organisationen unter Extrembedingungen handlungsfähig und produktiv.

Agile Change Implementation:
So bleibt die Organisation unter Extrembedingungen
handlungsfähig und produktiv.

Die COVID-19 Pandemie hat in vielen Organisationen die seit Jahrzehnten etablierten Strukturen, Prozesse und Formen der Zusammenarbeit mit einem Schlag außer Kraft gesetzt. Unternehmen stehen deshalb vor der Herausforderung, sehr schnell neue Arbeitsweisen zu adaptieren, um ihre Produktivität aufrechtzuerhalten. Gleichzeitig fehlen in den meisten Fällen definierte Prozesse, um diesen massiven Veränderungsprozess zu begleiten, da die Phasen des Change-Managements wesentlich schneller erfolgen als Pläne erstellt werden können. Statt klar definierte Change- Management Strategien strukturiert umzusetzen, müssen Unternehmen jetzt ad hoc reagieren. Das erfordert flexiblere und pragmatische Formen des Change-Managements und der Unternehmensführung.

Adaption statt Optimierung

Agile Change setzt genau hier an und zielt darauf ab, durch pragmatische und kreative Problemlösung die Handlungsfähigkeiten von Organisationen in Phasen großer Unsicherheit zu erhalten und die Auswirkungen kultureller Schocks abzufangen. Die Besinnung auf die Unternehmenswerte und Führungsprinzipien liefert die Leitlinien für die nötige Flexibilität und kontinuierliche Überprüfung der Arbeitsweisen und ermöglicht damit eine schnelle Anpassung an sich dynamisch verändernde Rahmenbedingungen während der COVID-19 Pandemie.

msg advisors hat ein dreistufiges Vorgehensmodell entwickelt, das Organisationen dabei hilft, schlagkräftig aus der Krise zu gelangen:

20200414_mad_Grafik_Agile_Change_Implementation_v1.svg

#1 Den Puls der Organisation fühlen

Die massiven betrieblichen Veränderungen durch COVID-19 haben in den Organisationen Spuren hinterlassen. Teams und Mitarbeiter mussten innerhalb kürzester Zeit neue Arbeitsmethoden umsetzten, neue Prinzipien der Kommunikation sowie Kollaboration entwickeln und erlernen. Gleichzeitig haben die Veränderungen in vielen Fällen Ängste und Unsicherheiten im Unternehmen und in der Gesellschaft hervorgerufen – aber auch neue Ideen und Innovationen.

Reflexion der „COVID-Practices“

Geführte Reflexionen (Retrospektive) ermöglichen es Teams und Organisationen, die aktuelle Stimmungslage, Arbeitsweisen und Problemfelder zu analysieren: Was läuft in der aktuellen Situation gut, was läuft schlecht, was fehlt? Wie geht es den Teams und Mitarbeitern? Wie ist die Stimmung und wie läuft die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Teams? Welche Prozesse und Controls nützen aktuell dem Unternehmen und welche Prozesse und Policies dienen dem Unternehmen nicht mehr? Welche Erfolge können gefeiert werden?

Prozess- und Governance-Bereinigung
Repriorisierung der digitalen Agenda

#2 Justierung von Vision und Strategie

Anders als zu Beginn der COVID-19 Pandemie, haben Unternehmen nun die Möglichkeit, den Veränderungsprozess aktiv zu gestalten und bewusst zu entscheiden, wie ihre Organisation nach der Krise aussehen soll. Diese Chance sollten sie nutzen: Ein strukturierter Change-Prozess ist dabei entscheidend, um die wertvollen Impulse aus der vorangegangenen Organisationsbetrachtung in konkrete Verbesserungen umzuwandeln und die Organisation schlagkräftiger aus der Krise zu führen. Dazu gehört eine klare Formulierung des Was, Warum und Wie der geplanten Transformation.

Was: Identifikation von Chancen-Themen

Durch die Bewertung der Erkenntnisse aus der Retrospektive ergeben sich Chancen die aktuelle Unternehmensstrategie, das Projektportfolio oder die Digitalisierungsstrategie anzupassen. Was möchten Sie aus der aktuellen Situation mitnehmen? Zum Beispiel: mehr Homeoffice, gezieltere on-site Workshops und Meetings, neue Produktionsideen oder Lieferketten? Wie sieht die Zukunft für Ihre Mitarbeiter aus?

Warum: Formulierung einer zukunftssicheren Vision
Wie: Entwicklung eines umsetzbaren Action-Plans

#3 Implementierung und Verankerung der Veränderung in der Organisation

Die Umsetzung von Maßnahmen während der COVID-19 Krise erfolgt unter Ausnahmebedingungen. Deshalb gilt es, auch hier die Prinzipien der Agile Change Implementation im Sinne eins flexiblen Vorgehens und einer pragmatischen Lösungsfindung zu berücksichtigen.

Flexible Verteilung von Arbeitspaketen

In der aktuellen Krisensituation gibt es in Unternehmen oft Abteilungen und Teams mit einer sehr hohen Arbeitsbelastung und Teams mit einer geringeren Arbeitsbelastung, welche aber die Implementierung der Verbesserungen jetzt gut unterstützen können.

Erzielung von Quick-Wins
Intensive kommunikative Begleitung

Die msg advisors begleiten Sie in allen Phasen der Agile Change Implementation. Sie helfen Ihrem Unternehmen dabei, die massiven Veränderungen infolge der COVID-19 Pandemie zur Weiterentwicklung und Stärkung der Resilienz in Ihrer Organisation zu nutzen.

Whitepaper: Agile Change

Eine Welt, in der schwarze Schwäne und perfekte Stürme zur Normalität gehören, erfordert immer häufiger ein Handeln ohne das „Sicherheitsnetz“ eines Regelwerks. Unser Whitepaper liefert dazu Impulse und kompaktes Methodenwissen:

  • Unter Extrembedingungen handlungsfähig und produktiv bleiben
  • Krisensituationen meistern und die Transformation zur agilen Organisation vorantreiben
  • Hybride Organisationen aufbauen

Erfahren Sie mehr.

Thomas Praska 345x385 Neu

Thomas Praska

Wir freuen uns auf den Kontakt mit Ihnen!

Weiterführende Themen

  • Minimum Viable Organization

    Minimum Viable Organization

    Hot Spots der digitalen Organisation gezielt weiterentwickeln.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
  • Remote Project Management

    Remote Project Management

    Resilienz in kritischen Phasen mit Project Management Factory stärken.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
  • Agility for remote success

    Agility for remote success

    Mit agilen Organisationsprinzipien Krisensituationen meistern.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
https://advisors.msg.group/images/msg_advisors_logo.svghttps://advisors.msg.group/images/msg_advisors_logo.svg
Mehr Informationen zum Thema
Mehr Informationen zum Thema