Agility for Remote Success

How agile organizational principles
can help companies during the Corona crisis.

Agility for Remote Success:
How agile organizational principles
can help companies during the Corona crisis.

The Corona pandemic is a unique SWOT test for organizations: the complexity and dynamics of the crisis rapidly bring the strengths and weaknesses of collaborations to light – whether in communication, planning day-to-day activities or when it comes to (self) motivation. The skills, structures or technologies that are lacking become apparent, especially when switching to remote working or home office structures – or, on the contrary, they may quickly ensure employees’ ability to work.

Companies that already have gained some experience with agile work methods have an enormous advantage in this situation. After all, the skills and characteristics of agile organizations are not only extremely beneficial during a crisis in general, but more specifically, for successful remote work.

With msg advisor’s “Agility for Remote Success” approaches, it is precisely these skills that companies employ. Two goals are important to us within this context: first, to activate and use the strengths of agile organizations to master the crisis situation in the short term. Second, to ensure the transformation to an agile organization does not stop or is not undone, but instead, to drive it forward as part of the new remote working situation.

20201106_mad_kampagne_agility-for-remote-success_grafik_en.jpg

Action point #1: Organization

Agile organizations consistently focus on value creation and align themselves accordingly; they create structures that are in line with their products and services. Companies have been working to rid themselves of functional silos for a while now, replacing them with end-to-end units that are able to react quickly and flexibly. In doing so, having a strong shared vision is what holds units that are as self-organized as possible together. Decisions are made as close to operational events as possible in order to leave tedious, hierarchy-oriented structures behind.

Immediate measure: Check value creation relevance

Companies can now do what has been part of day-to-day business in agile and lean structures for a while: prioritize what is important to the customer. A value creation-oriented alignment based on products and services can help with central organizational decisions. Flexibility and speed are helpful, especially during a crisis, for e.g., meeting previously unknown customer requirements or creatively replacing interrupted logistics chains. One thing is clear when doing so: the structural and process organization, as well as the structures themselves cannot simply be changed “remotely”.

The following questions are based on our experience with transformation projects and can help:

  • How can I strengthen customer orientation, creativity and proactivity within my product and service teams in order to come out of the crisis even stronger?
  • Which central functions can I downsize or eliminate as a cost-savings measure, without it having a significant impact on my value creation?
  • Which decision-making processes get in the way of fast decisions “for customers”? Can I change them without exposing myself to greater business risks?
  • Which hierarchy levels can be eliminated or are even obstructive?

Action point #2: Management

The leadership principle of “Servant Leadership” has become a key success factor within the context of agile transformation. The management team in an agile organization is less of a decision maker, manager or leader. Instead, they act as a “servant leader” and facilitator to create a safe space for the team, allowing the team to work and make decisions in a self-organized, efficient and result-oriented manner. They have the team’s back and eliminate any hurdles to ensure the team can work as planned. The transparency this requires when it comes to work progress and work methods is provided by the team itself through practices such as stand-ups, sprint reviews and retrospectives.

Immediate measure: Establish and strengthen servant leadership

The “servant leader” approach has become a necessity in the current crisis. Management cannot ensure employee productivity through control anymore, as such has become impossible with the remote work situation. Thus, they should instead focus on ensuring the individual and the team still see the company as their shared “home”, even if working distributed and alone. This includes instilling a feeling of working together, even in a crisis, and having a shared vision.

In these times, management should quickly obtain a clear overview of the team’s most urgent needs (technical connection, workflow/task transparency, motivation, etc.) and actively assist with the establishment of solutions and interfaces to other teams. Success-critical questions when doing so include:

  • What does the team need in order to keep being productive and work for the customer and in accordance with the company vision / image?
  • Which hurdles do I need to eliminate most urgently?
  • How can I provide adequate information, finances, resources, networks, support, etc. in order to help the team?
  • In what areas of remote working are my participation and control unnecessary or even obstructive compared to how we used to work?
  • Where is it actually needed and how urgently?
  • Which of my talents and experiences can I use to sincerely exercise and improve my new management tasks?

Action point #3: Teamwork

It is not only the management style, but the ability to work as a team and organize as a team that plays a decisive role within the framework of agile transformation. What has proven effective is allowing teams to organize themselves and to transition to the pull principle, in order to enable efficient and result-oriented work. Instead of waiting for work to be assigned by a superior, teams are encouraged to coordinate and prioritize tasks themselves. Essential to this approach are transparency and sound communication of the shared goals and tasks.

A cross-functional team organization means agile units do not always work at the same location. Tools such as digital Kanban boards, daily stand-up meetings, regular reviews and retrospectives make it easier for teams to synchronize their work and exchange know-how; hurdles can be identified more quickly; results are visible to everyone; and the next steps can be easily organized.

Immediate measure: Create a framework for self-organization

The principle of agile self-organization is an important solution approach in the current crisis and helps manage the limitations working alone from a home office can present.

Teams should create a structure for self-organized teamwork: clear, short-term goals in sprints with defined roles and artifacts (same timing, even structure through deadlines) form a key starting point. As to the “how” of achieving goals, employees can decide themselves. Key initial questions here are:

  • Who makes sure that the roles and tasks assigned to each team member are clear or have been redefined in order to enable effective work?
  • Which meetings make sense to ensure well-organized teamwork? Which participants are actually necessary for each meeting?
  • Who is in charge of maintaining an overview of workloads and capacities throughout the team?
  • Which technology / online meeting platform will be consistently used for work? Who ensures they are easy to operate and function smoothly?

Action point #4: Culture

The mindset and culture of the organization play a key role during agile transformation. In this case, the agile manifest defines, for example, clear principles such as “reacting to changes more than following a plan” or “placing individuals and interactions over processes and tools".

The concept of self-organized teams requires a culture of trust and that culture must be developed and promoted. To do so, transparency must be created and collaborations promoted. This helps increase self-motivation in colleagues and create further synergies. In addition to trust in employees, for example through decision-making authority and extensive implementation freedom, each individual must also assume responsibility and have the corresponding awareness.

Immediate measure: Strengthen select values & principles

The recent increase in remote working structures has a significant impact on the cultural dimension of teamwork. Social interactions like the company grapevine, the communication that takes place during coffee breaks, team sports and team rituals can fall to the wayside as a result. Focusing on the following three points when developing agile values and principles has proven effective in mastering these challenges:

  • Trust and responsibility in the context of teamwork
  • Customer orientation
  • Flexibility and creativity

With that in mind, the key questions to be addressed first when consciously changing the existing culture are:

  • What values & principles do we agree on as a team?
  • How can employees assume responsibility in a way that allows them to help manage the crisis?
  • What does respectful and attentive listening during meetings facilitate and promote?
  • How are errors handled?
  • How is a more efficient handling of the resource “time” ensured? This could involve a number of points, such as time management in home office or allowing everyone the chance to speak during an online meeting.

Find out more.

Michael Dusch 345x380

Michael Dusch

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Further topics

  • Minimum Viable Organization

    Minimum Viable Organization

    Developing hot spots of the digital organization in a targeted manner.


    Read more

  • 1
  • Remote Project Management

    Remote Project Management

    Strengthen resilience in critical phases with Project Management Factory.


    Read more

  • 1
  • Agile Change Implementation

    Agile Change Implementation

    Stay agile and productive under extreme conditions.


    Read more

  • 1
Logo M3 RGB ZusatzLogo M3 RGB Zusatz
More information on the topic.
More information on the topic.

Agility for Remote Success

Wie agile Organisationsprinzipien Unternehmen
in der Corona- Krise helfen können.

Agility for Remote Success:
Wie agile Organisationsprinzipien
Unternehmen in der Corona-Krise helfen können.

Die Corona-Pandemie ist ein einzigartiger SWOT-Test für Organisationen: Komplexität und Dynamik der Krise offenbaren im Schnelldurchlauf, welche Stärken und Schwächen in der Zusammenarbeit bestehen – sei es in der Kommunikation, bei der Planung des Arbeitsalltages oder in puncto (Selbst-)Motivation. Insbesondere beim Wechsel in Remote Working bzw. Homeoffice-Strukturen wird deutlich, welche Fähigkeiten, Strukturen oder Technologien fehlen – oder im Gegenteil schnell die Arbeitsfähigkeit sicherstellen.

Unternehmen, die bereits Erfahrung mit agilen Arbeitsweisen gesammelt haben, verfügen in dieser Situation über einen enormen Vorteil. Denn die Fähigkeiten und Eigenschaften agiler Organisationen sind nicht nur in Krisen generell, sondern auch für ein erfolgreiches Remote Working von großem Nutzen.

Mit den „Agility for Remote Success“ Ansätzen der msg advisors nutzen Unternehmen genau diese Fähigkeiten. Zwei Zielsetzungen sind uns dabei wichtig: erstens, die Stärken agiler Organisationen zu aktivieren und zu nutzen, um die Krisensituation kurzfristig zu meistern. Zweitens, die Transformation zur agilen Organisation jetzt nicht zu stoppen oder zurückzudrehen, sondern weiter im Rahmen des neuen Remote Working voranzutreiben.

20201106_mad_kampagne_agility-for-remote-success_grafik_de.jpg

Aktionspunkt #1: Organisation

Agile Organisationen richten sich konsequent an der Wertschöpfung aus und schaffen Strukturen entsprechend ihrer Produkte und Services. Unternehmen sind schon seit einiger Zeit dabei, funktionale Silos aufzulösen und End-to-End Einheiten zu bilden, die schnell und flexibel reagieren können. Dabei hält eine starke gemeinsame Vision die möglichst selbstorganisierten Einheiten zusammen. Entscheidungen werden im Idealfall nah beim operativen Geschehen getroffen, um schwerfällige, hierarchieorientierte Strukturen hinter sich zu lassen.

Sofortmaßnahme: Wertschöpfungsrelevanz überprüfen

Unternehmen können jetzt nutzen, was in agilen & lean Strukturen Alltag ist: Priorisieren, was für den Kunden wichtig ist. Eine wertschöpfungsorientierte Ausrichtung nach Produkten und Services kann bei zentralen Organisationsentscheidungen unterstützen. Flexibilität und Geschwindigkeit sind gerade in der Krise von Vorteil, um z.B. bisher unbekannte Kundenwünsche bedienen zu können oder unterbrochene Logistikketten kreativ zu ersetzen. Dabei ist klar: Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation sowie Strukturen können nicht problemlos „remote“ geändert werden.

Folgende Fragen auf Basis unserer Erfahrungen in Transformationsprojekten können unterstützen:

  • Wie stärke ich Kundenorientierung, Kreativität und Eigeninitiative in den Produkt- und Serviceteams, um gestärkt aus der Krise hervorzugehen?
  • Welche zentralen Funktionen kann ich für Einsparmaßnahmen verkleinern oder auflösen, ohne meine Wertschöpfung signifikant zu beeinflussen?
  • Welche Entscheidungsprozesse verhindern schnelle Entscheidungen „am Kunden“? Kann ich sie verändern, ohne größere unternehmerische Risiken einzugehen?
  • Welche Hierarchielevel sind verzichtbar oder sogar hinderlich?

Aktionspunkt #2: Führung

Das Führungsprinzip des „Servant Leadership“ ist im Kontext von agilen Transformationen zu einem wesentlichen Erfolgsfaktor geworden. Die Führungskraft in einer agilen Organisation ist weniger in der Rolle des Entscheiders, Managers oder Leiters. Stattdessen schafft sie als „Servant Leader“ und Facilitator einen sicheren Rahmen für das Team, um selbstorganisiert, effizient und ergebnisorientiert arbeiten und entscheiden zu können. Sie stärkt dem Team den Rücken und räumt Hürden aus dem Weg, um dessen Arbeitsfähigkeit sicherzustellen. Die erforderliche Transparenz über Arbeitsfortschritt und Arbeitsweise wird vom Team selbst über Rituale wie Stand-Ups, Sprint-Reviews oder Retrospektiven hergestellt.

Sofortmaßnahme: Servant Leadership etablieren und stärken

Der Ansatz des „Servant Leaders“ ist in der aktuellen Krise zu einer Notwendigkeit geworden. Die Führungskraft kann die Produktivität der Mitarbeiter nicht durch mehr Kontrolle sicherstellen, weil das in der Remote-Arbeitssituation unmöglich geworden ist. Sie sollte sich stattdessen darauf konzentrieren, dass der Einzelne und das Team, auch wenn sie verteilt und isoliert arbeiten müssen, immer noch die Identität der Firma als gemeinsame „Heimat“ wahrnehmen. Dazu gehört das Gefühl, auch in einer Krise am gleichen Strang zu ziehen, eine gemeinsame Vision zu haben.

Die Führungskraft sollte sich derzeit schnell Klarheit über die dringlichsten Anforderungen des Teams (technische Anbindung, Workflow-/Aufgaben-Transparenz, Motivation …) verschaffen und bei der Etablierung von Lösungen und Schnittstellen zu anderen Teams unterstützen. Erfolgskritische Fragestellungen sind hierbei u.a.:

  • Was benötigt das Team, um weiter im Sinne des Kunden und der Unternehmensvision / des Leitbildes produktiv arbeiten zu können?
  • Welche Hindernisse muss ich dazu mit höchster Priorität aus dem Weg räumen?
  • Wie liefere ich ausreichend Information, Finanzen, Ressourcen, Netzwerke, Support etc., um das Team zu unterstützen?
  • An welchen Stellen des Remote Working sind meine Beteiligung und Kontrolle im Gegensatz zum bisherigen Modus Operandi überflüssig oder sogar hinderlich?
  • An welchen Stellen sind sie mit welcher Dringlichkeit notwendig?
  • Welche meiner Talente und Erfahrungen kann ich nutzen, um meine neuen Führungsaufgaben authentisch ausüben und weiterentwickeln zu können?

Aktionspunkt #3: Teamarbeit

Nicht nur der Führungsstil, sondern auch wie ein Team zusammenarbeitet und sich organisiert, spielt im agilen Transformationsrahmen eine entscheidende Rolle. Es hat sich bewährt, dass Teams sich selbst organisieren und zum Pull-Konzept übergehen, um ein effizientes und ergebnisorientiertes Arbeiten zu ermöglichen. Anstatt auf eine Arbeitszuweisung vom Vorgesetzten zu warten, werden Teams ermutigt, Aufgaben eigenverantwortlich abzustimmen und zu priorisieren. Eine Voraussetzung hierfür ist Transparenz und eine gute Kommunikation der gemeinsamen Ziele und Aufgaben.

Im Rahmen einer cross-funktionalen Teamorganisation arbeiten agile Einheiten nicht immer am gleichen Standort. Durch Mittel wie z.B. digitale Kanban-Boards, tägliche Stand-Up Meetings, regelmäßige Reviews und Retrospektiven werden dem Team die Synchronisation und der Wissensaustausch erleichtert, Hindernisse werden schneller erkannt, Resultate sind für alle sichtbar und die nächsten Schritte lassen sich gut strukturieren.

Sofortmaßnahme: Rahmen für Selbstorganisation schaffen

Das Prinzip der agilen Selbstorganisation ist in der aktuellen Krise ein wichtiger Lösungsansatz, um die Limitierungen durch das isolierte Arbeiten im Homeoffice zu überwinden.

Teams sollten sich eine Struktur für selbstorganisierte Zusammenarbeit schaffen: klare, kurzfristige Ziele in Sprints mit festgelegten Rollen und Artefakte (gemeinsame Taktung, auch Struktur durch Termine) sind ein wichtiger Ausgangspunkt. Über das „Wie“ der Zielerfüllung entscheiden die Mitarbeiter eigenverantwortlich. Erste, wesentliche Fragestellungen sind dabei:

  • Wer stellt wie sicher, dass Rollen und Aufgaben aller Teammitglieder geklärt bzw. neu definiert werden, um effektives Arbeiten zu ermöglichen?
  • Welche Meetings sind für eine strukturierte Zusammenarbeit sinnvoll? Welche Teilnehmer sind jeweils wirklich notwendig?
  • Wer behält den Überblick über Auslastung und Kapazitäten im Team?
  • Mit welcher Technologie / Online-Meeting-Plattform wird konsequent gearbeitet? Wer sorgt für eine leicht verständliche und reibungslose Funktionalität?

Aktionspunkt #4: Kultur

Im Rahmen von agilen Transformationen spielen das Mindset und die Kultur der Organisation eine zentrale Rolle. Das agile Manifest hat hier unter anderem klare Prinzipien definiert wie “das Reagieren auf Veränderungen, mehr als das Befolgen eines Plans” oder “das Individuum und Interaktionen über Prozesse und Werkzeuge” zu stellen.

Das Konzept von selbstorganisierten Teams setzt eine Kultur des Vertrauens voraus, die entwickelt und gefördert werden muss. Hierfür ist es notwendig, Transparenz herzustellen und Kollaborationen zu fördern. Dadurch kann die Eigenmotivation der einzelnen Kollegen gesteigert und zusätzlich Synergien geschaffen werden. Neben Vertrauen in die Mitarbeiter, bspw. durch Entscheidungsbefugnisse oder großen Freiheiten bei der Umsetzung, bedarf es auch einer Verantwortungsübernahme und entsprechendem Bewusstsein eines jeden einzelnen.

Sofortmaßnahme: Ausgewählte Werte & Prinzipien stärken

Der bereits seit einiger Zeit steigende Anteil an Remote Working-Strukturen beeinflusst die kulturelle Dimension der Zusammenarbeit gravierend. Soziale Interaktionen wie Flurfunk, das kommunikative Socializing in der Kaffeepause, Teamsport und Teamrituale geraten dadurch schrittweise ins Hintertreffen. Es hat sich bewährt, agile Werte und Prinzipien mit drei maßgeblichen Schwerpunkten zu entwickeln, um diese Herausforderungen zu bewältigen:

  • Vertrauen und Verantwortung in der Zusammenarbeit
  • Kundenorientierung
  • Flexibilität und Kreativität

Erste, zentrale Fragestellungen für die bewusste Veränderung der Kultur sind in diesem Sinne:

  • Auf welche Werte & Prinzipien können wir uns als Team einigen?
  • Wie können Mitarbeiter Verantwortung übernehmen, um bei der Bewältigung der Krise zu helfen?
  • Was ermöglicht und fördert ein respektvolles und aufmerksames Zuhören in Gesprächen?
  • Wie wird mit Fehlern umgegangen?
  • Wie wird ein effizienter Umgang mit der Ressource Zeit sichergestellt? Dies betrifft mehrere Punkte, etwa die Zeitplanung im Homeoffice oder das jeder Teilnehmer in einem Online-Meeting zu Wort kommt.

Whitepaper: Agile Change

Eine Welt, in der schwarze Schwäne und perfekte Stürme zur Normalität gehören, erfordert immer häufiger ein Handeln ohne das „Sicherheitsnetz“ eines Regelwerks. Unser Whitepaper liefert dazu Impulse und kompaktes Methodenwissen:

  • Unter Extrembedingungen handlungsfähig und produktiv bleiben
  • Krisensituationen meistern und die Transformation zur agilen Organisation vorantreiben
  • Hybride Organisationen aufbauen

Erfahren Sie mehr.

Michael Dusch 345x380

Michael Dusch

Wir freuen uns auf den Kontakt mit Ihnen!

Weiterführende Themen

  • Minimum Viable Organization

    Minimum Viable Organization

    Hot Spots der digitalen Organisation gezielt weiterentwickeln.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
  • Remote Project Management

    Remote Project Management

    Resilienz in kritischen Phasen mit Project Management Factory stärken.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
  • Agile Change Implementation

    Agile Change Implementation

    Unter Extrembedingungen handlungsfähig und produktiv bleiben.


    Mehr lesen

  • 1
Logo M3 RGB ZusatzLogo M3 RGB Zusatz
Mehr Informationen zum Thema
Mehr Informationen zum Thema