Facing the Front Line

msg advisors’ rapid planning approach

Covid 19 Rapid ReactionNavigation für den Sichtflug

Facing the Front Line:
msg advisors’ rapid planning approach

Companies fighting the spread of COVID-19 on the front line have to make fast and accurate decisions. This is not just true when trying, for example, to produce significantly higher quantities of medical devices within a very short period of time. Instead, it is also true when trying to transition production lines from non-medical clothing to protective masks “overnight”.

However, the combination of challenges faced during this crisis situation is unique: there are no empirical values or best practices. At the same time, extreme dynamics and complexity increase the pressure to act and increase the risk of making a wrong decision.

msg advisors’ rapid planning approach is designed to help overcome these challenges. It is based on integrated interaction between traditional planning approaches, agile methods, high-performance data analytics and regulatory guidelines and frameworks. Among these, there are three fields of action that are particularly relevant for decision makers:

Field of action #1: Legally-compliant production of protective equipment

In the current shut-down situation, the ability to quickly transition production to the production of protective equipment can help ensure the survival of companies not previously active in the strictly regulated health-care market. A high demand for masks in particular will need to be met in the next few months.

The first requirement for a successful entry into production is an exact knowledge of the differences between PPE masks (consumers) and medical-grade masks (used in a medical environment). The guideline put together by msg advisors summarizes the key recommendations and regulations issued by authorities on this specific topic. In addition, our infographic guides you through the differences between PPE and medical-grade products.

Guideline for the legally-compliant
production of protective equipment

Field of action #2: Transitioning production to surgical masks

To manage the current demand for protective equipment during the Corona pandemic, the European Commission is temporarily relaxing the strict rules that govern the domestic market. Consequently, companies will be allowed to produce non-sterile surgical respirators without the CE mark and give them to medical professionals.

What are the liability risks, disclosure obligations and guidelines that need to be considered when producing such masks or when converting production accordingly? What happens to the investment in the long term when the EU Commission puts the strict rules back into effect? Our guideline summarizes the key points.

Guideline for the production of non-sterile/sterile
surgical masks for medical professionals

Field of action #3: Ensuring MDR compliance

The deadline for implementing the European MDR (Medical Device Regulation) has been extended another year as a result of the Corona crisis. The considerable impact the regulation has on the proper functioning and deliverability of manufacturer, vendor and service provider delivery chains should never be underestimated. Thus, companies should take advantage of the extra time to make sure they also meet the requirements for vendor management by May 2021 as well.

What should a relevant set of MDR measures include? How can compliance, transformation and efficiency enhancement be optimally combined as part of the planning process? We address five particularly important focal points for ensuring a correct implementation of the MDR on the following website:

Using crisis mode to ensure MDR compliance

Field of action #4: Liquidity compass for steering revenue development

For the energy sector, losses in the industrial customer business are only one of several challenges posed by the dynamic and difficult to predict course of the corona crisis. With the liquidity compass of msg advisors, decision-​makers identify the appropriate crisis prevention measures.

Managing revenue development in the energy industry
with the liquidity compass of msg advisors

Further information on msg advisors as a consulting partner for the healthcare industry can be found in our Life Science & Chemicals section as well as on the msg industry advisors website

Find out more

Thomas Praska 345x385 Neu

Thomas Praska

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Christoph Piller

Christoph Piller

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

News alert: Trend radar for compliance owners

Our Compliance Newsletter keeps you up to date on current topics and trend developments
in the pharmaceutical industry and medical technology.

Facing the Frontline

Rapid Planning Ansatz der msg advisors

Covid 19 Rapid ReactionNavigation für den Sichtflug

Facing the Frontline:
Rapid Planning Ansatz der msg advisors

Unternehmen, die der Ausbreitung von COVID-19 in vorderster Linie entgegenwirken, müssen schnelle und präzise Entscheidungen treffen. Das gilt nicht nur, falls z.B. eine deutlich höhere Stückzahl medizintechnischer Geräte in einem kürzeren Zeitraum hergestellt werden soll. Sondern auch, wenn eine Fertigungslinie „über Nacht“ von nicht-medizinscher Kleidung auf Schutzmasken umzurüsten ist.

Allerdings ist in dieser Krisen-Situation die Kombination der Herausforderungen einzigartig: Erfahrungswerte und Best Practices existieren nicht. Zugleich steigern extreme Dynamik und Komplexität den Handlungsdruck und erhöhen das Risiko von Fehlentscheidungen.

Auf die Lösung dieser Herausforderungen ist der Rapid Planning Ansatz der msg advisors ausgerichtet. Er basiert auf einem integrierten Zusammenspiel klassischer Planungsansätze, agiler Methoden, leistungsfähiger Data-Analytics sowie regulatorischer Guidelines und Frameworks. Darunter sind drei Handlungsfelder für Entscheider besonders relevant:

Handlungsfeld #1: Rechtssichere Produktion von Schutzausrüstung

Eine schnelle Umstellung der Produktion auf die Herstellung von Schutzausrüstung kann in der derzeitigen Shutdown-Situation zur Existenzsicherung von Unternehmen beitragen, die bislang nicht im streng regulierten Gesundheitsmarkt tätig waren. Insbesondere ein hoher Bedarf an Masken wird auch in den nächsten Monaten zu decken sein.

Die erste Voraussetzung für einen erfolgreichen Einstieg in die Fertigung ist eine genaue Kenntniss der Unterschiede zwischen PSA-Masken (Verbraucher) und MP-Masken (medizinischer Bereich). Der Guideline der msg advisors fasst die wesentlichen Empfehlungen und Verordnungen von Behörden zu diesem Thema zusammen. Zusätzlich führt unsere Infografik durch die Unterschiede zwischen PSA und MP-Produkten.

Guideline zur rechtssicheren Produktion von Schutzausrüstung

Handlungsfeld #2: Umstellung der Produktion auf OP-Masken

Um den aktuellen Bedarf an Schutzausrüstungen während der Corona-Pandemie zu bewältigen, lockert die Europäischen Kommission vorübergehend die strengen Regeln des Binnenmarktes. Somit dürfen Unternehmen zeitweise unsterile OP-Atemmasken ohne CE-Kennzeichnung herstellen und an medizinische Fachkräfte abgeben.

Welche Haftungsrisiken, Anzeigenpflichten und Richtlinien sind bei einer solchen Maskenfertigung bzw. bei einer entsprechenden Umstellung der Produktion zu beachten? Was geschieht auf langfristige Sicht mit diesem Investment, wenn die EU-Kommission die strengen Regeln reaktiviert? Unser Guideline fasst die wesentlichen Punkte zusammen.

Guideline zur Produktion von unsterilen /
sterilen OP-Masken für medizinische Fachkräfte

Handlungsfeld #3: Sicherung der MDR-Compliance

Aufgrund der Corona-Krise verlängert sich die Frist zur Umsetzung der europäischen Medizinprodukte-Verordnung MDR (Medical Device Regulation) um ein Jahr. Die erheblichen Auswirkungen der Verordnung auf die Funktions- und Leistungsfähigkeit der Lieferketten von Herstellern, Lieferanten und Dienstleistern sind keinesfalls zu unterschätzen. Daher sollten Unternehmen die gewonnene Zeit richtig nutzen, um im Mai 2021 auch die Vorgaben zum Lieferantenmanagement zu erfüllen.

Was sollte ein entsprechender MDR-Maßnahmenplan umfassen? Wie gelingt es, bei dieser Planung Compliance, Transformation und Effizienzsteigerung beim Lieferkettenmanagement optimal zu vereinen? Fünf besonders wichtige Orientierungspunkte zur richtigen Umsetzung der MDR-Verordnung erläutern wir auf der folgenden Website:

Krisen-Modus zur Sicherung der MDR-Compliance nutzen

Handlungsfeld #4: Liquiditäts-​Kompass zur Steuerung der Erlösentwicklung

Für die Energiebranche sind Verluste im Industriekundengeschäft nur eine von mehreren Herausforderungen, die der dynamische und schwer prognostizierbare Verlauf der Corona-​Krise mit sich bringt. Mit dem Liquiditäts-​​Kompass der msg advisors identifizieren Entscheider die passenden Krisenabwehrmaßnahmen.

Erlösentwicklung in der Energiewirtschaft steuern mit dem Liquiditäts-Kompass der msg advisors

Handlungsfeld #5: Corona-Krisenmanagement für die Finanzindustrie


Der Corona-Shutdown brachte für Unternehmen kritische Liquiditätsengpässe mit sich. Dies hat auch Folgen für die Finanzindustrie. Die msg advisors stehen Banken und Finanzdienstleister bei der Bewältigung von Krisensituationen als erfahrener Beratungspartner zur Seite. Hierbei bringen wir u.a. eine langjährige Expertise im Risikomanagement von Banken ein.

Zentrale Handlungsfelder, in denen wir speziell im Kontext der Corona-Krise für eine schnelle Unterstützung sorgen, erläutern wir auf der folgenden Website.

Corona-Krisenmanagement für die Finanzindustrie

Weitere Informationen über die msg advisors als Beratungspartner für die Gesundheitsbranche erhalten Sie in unserem Life Science & Chemicals Bereich sowie auf der Website der msg industry advisors.

Erfahren Sie mehr.

Thomas Praska 345x385 Neu

Thomas Praska

Wir freuen uns auf den Kontakt mit Ihnen!

Christoph Piller

Christoph Piller

Wir freuen uns auf den Kontakt mit Ihnen!

Newsalert: Trend-Radar für Compliance-Verantwortliche

Unser Compliance-Newsletter hält Sie über aktuelle Themen und Trendentwicklungen in der Pharmaindustrie und der Medizintechnik auf dem Laufenden. Hier gelangen Sie zu den bereits erschienen Ausgaben und zum Abonnement.